Return to Headlines

Men's Track Wins State Championship

The Men’s Track and Field team took home the 2023 NCHSAA 1A State Championship with a team score of 63.50. Of the 43 teams competing, UA scored 3.50 points higher than 2nd place and 23.50 points higher than 3rd place.. The men’s team consists of athletes Evan Pardue, Evan Mitchell, Ezra Martin, Nathan Swinney, Jake Additon, and Noah Mitchell. Their coaches are Phillip Morris, Ashley Grant, Nikki Young, John Tillman, and Latosha Sanders. 

Head Coach Phillip Morris said, “This has been a big year for the track program! I am very proud of all of our athletes and their accomplishments this year. I'm excited to see what the future holds for the team. They have worked hard all season and they went into the postseason ready to compete. I was happy to see them come home with the State title.”

Also winning individual state championships were Evan Pardue who placed 1st in the 200m with a time of 21.84 and 1st in the 400m with a time of 48.86, and Ezra Martin who placed 1st in the Long Jump with a distance of 22-09.75 and was also awarded the 1A Sportsmanship Award. 

Contributing to the overall team win:

  • Evan Pardue 3rd place - 100m

  • Ezra Martin 2nd place - Triple Jump; 3rd place - High Jump

  • Evan Mitchell 4th place - 1600m; 5th - 800m

  • Noah Mitchell 11th place - High Jump

  • 4x400m Relay Team - 4th place: Evan Pardue, Evan Mitchell, Nathan Swinney, Jake Additon

Athletic Director Michelle Phifer added, “My heart is so full with pride and excitement for this team. The student athletes and coaches have worked diligently for the last several years to earn this championship and it paid off. Evan Pardue and Ezra Martin’s first place individual wins and top finishes in other events along with Evan Mitchell medaling in the 800m and 1600m put our men’s team in a great spot heading into the final event. We were only up by a half of a point and the 4x400m relay team of Mitchell, Pardue, Jake Additon & Nate Swinney, did exactly what they needed to do to secure the championship. These young men are so deserving of this win. They are the epitome of student athletes with three of the four seniors graduating with top scholar honors and in the top 10 of the 2023 class.”

Additional Information: Head Coach Phillip Morris was named the Yadkin Valley Conference Track and Field Coach of the Year.